Tuesday 21st May 2024
Dhivehi Edition
News Reports Sports Business
Presidential election

Maldives Elections Commission Determines Candidate Numbers for Upcoming Presidential Poll

In an official ceremony on Wednesday evening at the Elections Commission's (EC) central location in Dharubaaruge, the candidate numbers for the presidential elections scheduled for September 9th were decided through a random draw.
The lineup for the candidates is as follows:
Former Home Minister Umar Naseer (Independent Candidate)
Former Deputy Defense Minister Hassan Zameel (Independent Candidate)
President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Maldivian Democratic Party)
Male' City Mayor Dr. Mohamed Muizzu (People’s National Congress)
Qasim Ibrahim (Jumhoory Party)
Ahmed Faris Maumoon (Independent Candidate)
Hulhudhoo MP Ilyas Labeeb (The Democrats)
Colonel (Retired) Mohamed Nazim (Maldives National Party)
The EC initially received the candidacy of PPM’s leader and former president Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom. However, it was rejected based on his conviction for money laundering and bribery, in line with Article 109 of the Constitution. Yameen's appeal against the decision was dismissed by the Supreme Court on Sunday.
President Solih was the next to file his candidacy, as he campaigns for a second term, with North Hithadhoo MP Mohamed Aslam as his vice presidential choice.
Other candidates filed on Monday, including Dr. Mohamed Muizzu with running mate Faresmaathoda MP Hussain Mohamed Latheef, JP’s leader Qasim Ibrahim with Ameen Ibrahim, and three independent candidates: MRM’s president Faris with Dr. Abdul Sattar Yoosuf, Umar Naseer with Ahmed Saleem, and Hassan Zameel with his spouse, Mariyam Aleem.
The Elections Commission has confirmed that 283,272 individuals are eligible to cast their votes in the upcoming election.