Saturday 15th Jun 2024
Dhivehi Edition
News Reports Sports Business
President Solih

54 MPs Back Solih's No-Confidence Motion Against Speaker Nasheed

MALE, MALDIVES - Escalating the political turmoil in Maldivian politics, MPs loyal to President Ibrahim Mohammed Solih have now submitted a motion to call for a no-confidence vote against Parliament Speaker and MDP President Mohammed Nasheed. A total of 54 Parliament members have signed the motion, marking a significant shift in the Maldives' political landscape.
Notably, five members from the ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) did not sign the petition, suggesting that President Solih's control over the ruling party is wavering. As evidence of this, 12 MPs have already departed from the MDP to form a new party called "The Democrats".

As the Maldivian political scene grows more turbulent, President Solih has reportedly indicated his intention to appoint Mohammed Aslam, the current leader of MDP's parliamentary group, as the new Speaker of the Parliament. MP Rozaina is slated to become Aslam's deputy, under President Solih's proposed realignment.

This development comes on the heels of a previous no-confidence motion tabled by the MDP against Deputy Speaker Eva Abdullah, signaling a broad reshuffling of the party's leadership.

The nation now eagerly awaits the results of these no-confidence motions, as their outcomes could dramatically alter the Maldives' political landscape.